Books with bite

If you like the Sookie Stackhouse mysteries and are hungry for more books about vampires, there are a lot to choose from. Try some of these:

Bloodsucking Fiends is a vampire story with some romance by Christopher Moore.

Bloodsucking Fiends is a vampire story with some romance by Christopher Moore.

If you like supernatural romance, try:
Dates From Hell
by Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands, Kelley Armstrong and Lori Handeland
the Dark-Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon (the first book is Night Pleasures)
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story and You Suck: A Love Story by Christopher Moore
or Halfway To The Grave by Jeaniene Frost, the first of the Night Huntress series

For a literary twist on a vampire story, try:

The Historian is a new twist on the Dracula story by Elizabeth Kostova.

The Historian is a new twist on the Dracula story by Elizabeth Kostova.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (a young woman uncovers a family mystery tracking Vlad Tepes through Eastern Europe)
Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist (gritty, scary, dark tale of a child and his vampire friend)

The Vampire Archives, a collection of famous vampire short stories by mystery guru Otto Penzler, Neil Gaiman and Kim Newman.

For a humorous twist on a vampire story, try:
417D0BM72PL._SS500_Undead and Unwed
by MaryJanice Davidson,
Naked Brunch
by Sparkle Hayter,
the Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom
series by Julie Kenner (Carpe Demon is the first)
Blood Lite: an Anthology of Humorous Horror Stories Presented by the Horror Writers Association
by Kevin J. Anderson, editor
or Wait Till Your Vampire Gets Home by Michele Bardsley.

If you enjoy supernatural mysteries, you might like:
Kim Harrison’s Rachel Morgan series. The first book is Dead Witch Walking.

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

The Sisters of the Moon series by Yasmine Galenorn is about a group of siblings with different supernatural powers. The first is Witchling.
Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden series also tackles numerous supernatural creatures. The first book is Storm Front.

If you like vampire private investigators, try:
Charlie Huston’s Joe Pitt Casebook series (the first is Already Dead)
The Anna Strong Chronicles
by Jeanne C. Stein
Mario Acevedo’s Felix Gomez stories (The Nymphos of Rocky Flats is the first)
The Fat White Vampire Blues
by  Andrew Fox or

Bloodlist by P.N. Elrod was ahead of its time when it came out in 1990.

Bloodlist by P.N. Elrod was ahead of its time when it came out in 1990.

the Bloodlist series by P.N. Elrod

Still more vampire books
The Stake, Bite and The Traveling Vampire Show by Richard Laymon
I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
the “Bloody” books by Georgia Evans (Bloody Good is the first)
‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
Progeny of the Adder by Leslie Whitten

If you like supernatural stories with an edgier feel and explicit sex and violence, try Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake (the first is Guilty Pleasures)

Anne Rice’s vampire series. The first is Interview with the Vampire.

David Wellington has a number of intense, violent vampire books out: 13 Bullets, 99 Coffins, Vampire Zero, and 23 Hours.

Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan have a new vampire book out called The Strain which is also pretty scary and gory.

For more about supernatural creatures, ask your local librarian for book suggestions.

More suggestions: Vampire Library

A selection of vampire picks from the Bettendorf, Iowa, library by way of bn.com’s Books and Authors site:
Librarian’s Favorites:

If You Like the Vampire Stories of Anne Rice Try (2009)
www.bettendorflibrary.com

Based on interest in the vampire stories of Anne Rice, readers are invited to explore the work of several other authors. These recommended readings focus on the vampire theme and fall into categories of fiction, science fiction and nonfiction. The staff of Bettendorf Public Library in Bettendorf, Iowa compiled this list which appears on the library’s website (www.bettendorflibrary.com) as of May 2009.

Suckers
Dracula: A Biography of Vlad the Impaler 1431-1476
The Dracula Scrapbook
Those Who Hunt the Night
Salem’s Lot
The Silver Kiss
Blood Brothers
Forever and the Night
The Book of Common Dread
The Season of Passage
The Dracula Archives
Bram Stoker’s Dracula: The Novel of the Film by Francis Ford Coppola
A Matter of Taste
Children of the Night
The Empire of Fear
The Hunger
The Palace
Fevre Dream
Child of an Ancient City
The Last Aerie
Dracula
Nightshade

Advertisements

1 Comment

  1. […] Books with Bite via Sookie’s Spot […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Vampire Bill

    Sparks fly when Sookie Stackhouse meets Bill Compton, vampire.